Garden Chef Series Cooking Demonstrations at Powell Gardens



Learn from Some of the Region's Best Chefs!

Learn to cook with garden-fresh ingredients at the Garden Chef Series. Noted chefs, cookbook authors and other culinary enthusiasts demonstrate recipes featuring fruits, herbs and vegetables grown in the 12-acre Heartland Harvest Garden, the nation's largest edible landscape.

The demonstrations take place at least twice a month from May 24 through October 4 in the open-air Missouri Barn and are included with Garden admission. Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. Samples, if provided, are limited. See some of the recipes from past demos on our Garden Chef Series recipes page

The 2015 Schedule

Please note: The schedule is subject to change, so please check back for updates. Cooking demos start at 2 p.m. unless otherwise noted. 


Sunday, May 24: Cody Hogan, Chef de Cuisine at Lidia's Kansas City
Sunday, May 31: Craig Jones, Food Network's Grill Mayor and Owner of Savory Addictions Gourmet Nuts  


Sunday, June 7: Martin Woods, Executive Chef at Ya Ya's Euro Bistro
Sunday, June 28: Chefs Pamela Infranca, former owner of the Wild Onion Cafe in Trenton, Mo., and Ellen Knapp


Sunday, July 5: No demo 
Saturday, July 11: Patrick Parmentier, Chef/Program Director at L'Ecole Culinaire
Sunday, July 26: Charles d'Ablaing, Executive Chef at Chaz on the Plaza inside The Raphael Hotel 


Sunday, August 2: Rachel Ciordas, Food Writer/Owner at This One Bite and Lucca Bakeryand Instructor at the Culinary Center of Kansas City
Sunday, August 9: Jasper Mirabile, Jr., Chef/Owner at Jasper's Restaurant
Sunday, August 16: Joe West, Executive Chef/Owner at Kusshi
Sunday, August 23: Matt Arnold, Executive Chef at Webster House 
Sunday, August 30: Craig and Gay Jones, Owners of Savory Addictions, and Ed and Denee Collins, Owners of NKC Dog 







Sunday, September 6: Julie Kendall, Chef/Owner at Cafe Blackadder in Warrensburg, Mo.
Sunday, September 13: Richard W. McPeake, Chef/Culinary Instructor, and Students from the Kansas City, Kansas, Community College Culinary Arts Program  
Sunday, September 20: No demo (Join us for Under a Harvest Moon with Ryan Brazeal, Executive Chef/Owner at Novel.)
Sunday, September 27: Laura and Tim Tuohy, Owners of Kansas City Canning Co., at noon  


Sunday, October 4: Craig Howard, Chef/Owner at Howard's
Sunday, October 11: No demo (Missouri Barn Beer Dinner with John Smith, Executive Chef at Pig & Finch, and Boulevard Brewing Company

2015 Garden Chef Series Sponsors

Thank you to the 2015 Garden Chef Series Sponsors: 

Cookware provided by:


Weber kettle grill provided by: 

Smoke 'n' Fire in Overland Park, Kansas, donated the Weber kettle grill used in Powell Gardens' Garden Chef Series cooking demonstrations.


Did you know? The flowers and fruit of Malabar Spinach make it quite a showy ornamental annual vine. The foliage is a good leafy green that tastes like spinach yet thrives in summer when lettuces and such languish in the heat. See more plants we like »


UHM Call out

Don't miss Under A Harvest Moon: a farm-to-table fund-raising dinner to celebrate the season.

Learn More »

Give a gift membership to Friends of Powell Gardens. It's a gift that keeps giving all year long!

Learn More »

Experience the tastes of the Heartland Harvest Garden with our 'Fresh Bites' programs.

Learn More »