Chef Cody Hogan's 2013 demo in the Missouri Barn

The Garden Chef Series at Powell Gardens

Each season we invite chefs and other culinary enthusiasts to demonstrate recipes featuring ingredients grown in the Heartland Harvest Garden, the nation's largest edible landscape.

Demos, which are included with Garden admission, are held most Sundays at 2 p.m. (unless otherwise noted) in the open-air Missouri Barn. Seating is on a first-come, first-served basis. 

The 2014 Schedule 

This listing is subject to change. Please check back for updates. 

May

Friday, May 2, 11 a.m.-noon: Lisa Burgess and Culinary Arts Students from the Career and Technology Center at Fort Osage   
Sunday, May 11: No demo (Join us for Mother’s Day brunch and concert by Brookside Brass.)
Sunday, May 18: Cody Hogan, Chef de Cuisine at Lidia's
Sunday, May 25: Karen Breshears, CCC, RD, Instructor of Food and Nutrition at the University of Central Missouri 

June

Sunday, June 1: John Smith, Executive Chef at Pig & Finch 
Sunday, June 8: Doug Sayles, Chef/Owner at Smokin' Fresh Streetside BBQ
Sunday, June 15: No demo (Join us for a Father's Day performance by Paul Mesner Puppets at 1:30 p.m.)
Sunday, June 22: No demo (Missouri Barn Dinner with Joe Shirley, Chef/Owner at Uberdine)
Wednesday, June 25: Carmen Cabia Garcia, Chef/Owner at El Tenedor (time TBA)
Sunday, June 29: No demo (Live-Fire Dinner with Food Network's Grill Mayor Craig Jones

Sponsored by: 

       

 

 

 

July

Sunday, July 6: Chris Graham, Executive Chef at Taste, Kansas City's Special Event & Catering Company
Sunday, July 13: Ian Denney, Sous Chef at The Raphael Hotel
Sunday, July 20: No demo (Missouri Barn Dinner with Craig Howard, Chef/Owner at Howard's Organic Fare and Vegetable Patch)
Sunday, July 27: Julie Kendall, Chef/Owner at Café Blackadder 
Following Julie's demo, longtime Kansas City musician Jeff Porter will perform in the Missouri Barn (sponsored by Darn Good Food, LLC). 

August

Sunday, August 3: Jasper Mirabile, Owner/Chef at Jasper's Restaurant 
Sunday, August 10: Charles d'Ablaing, Executive Chef at The Raphael Hotel 
Sunday, August 17: No demo 
Sunday, August 24: No demo (Missouri Barn Dinner with Ian Denney, Sous Chef at The Raphael Hotel
Sunday, August 31: Alex Staab, Chef and Culinary Instructor at MKA Kitchen 

September

Sunday, September 7: Richard W. McPeake, Chef/Culinary Instructor, and Culinary Students from Kansas City, Kansas, Community College 
Sunday, September 14: Mindy Lindeman Riley, Owner of Olive Tree Fine Oils + Vinegars 
Sunday, September 21: No demo (Join us for Under a Harvest Moon with Chefs Linda Duerr and Leon Bahlmann
Sunday, September 28: Michele Coakley, Chef/Owner at Exquisite Eats Personal Chef Service

October

Sunday, October 5: Beth Bader, Co-author of The Cleaner Plate Club, at 12:30 p.m. and Cody Hogan, Chef de Cuisine at Lidia's, at 2 p.m. 
Sunday, October 12: No demo (Missouri Barn Dinner with Chefs Mickey Priolo from The Corner Restaurant and Rick Mullins from Gram & Dun

Cookware provided by:    

 

Did you know? The flowers and fruit of Malabar Spinach make it quite a showy ornamental annual vine. The foliage is a good leafy green that tastes like spinach yet thrives in summer when lettuces and such languish in the heat. See more plants we like »

 

UHM Call out

Don't miss Under A Harvest Moon: a farm-to-table fund-raising dinner to celebrate the season.

Learn More »

Give a gift membership to Friends of Powell Gardens. It's a gift that keeps giving all year long!

Learn More »

Experience the tastes of the Heartland Harvest Garden with our new 'Fresh Bites' programs.

Learn More »